Database driven websites page chapter4

hi everyone i am new to db websites and theses forums i have brought the book by kevin yank database driven websites and i have got to chapter 4 and followed it word by word but i am haveing a problem with the database error:

Warning: mysqli_connect() [function.mysqli-connect]: (/838860800):

what is happening it should say

unable to connect to the database server.

this is when i changed the password to test see if it is working when i use the correct password it says connected to database but when it says chage password to see if it gives the unable to connect to the database server. i get this error above i have unistalled it and reinstalled the software but all that happens is it changes the number in the error this is the code from the book and i cant work this error out can anyone help me asap thanks.

the code:

<?
$link = mysqli_connect(‘localhost’, ‘root’, ‘bail’);
if (!$link)
{
$output = ‘unable to connect to the database server.’;
include ‘output.html.php’;
exit();
}
if (!mysqli_set_charset ($link, ‘utf8’))
{
$output = ‘unable to set database connecion encoding.’;
exit();
}
if (!mysqli_select_db($link, ‘ijdb’))
{
$output = ‘unable to locate the joke database.’;
exit();
}
$output = ‘DATABASE CONNECTION ESTABLISHED.’;
?>

and the output code is :

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC “-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN” <“http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtm
-transitional.dtd”>
<html xmlns=“http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml”>
<head>
<meta http-equiv=“Content-Type” content=“text/html; charset=utf-8” />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>
<body>
<? echo $output; ?>
</body>
</html>

when i changed the password to test see if it is working when i use the correct password it says connected to database but when it says chage password to see if it gives the unable to connect to the database server

This sounds like what’s supposed to happen.

When you use the correct password, you connect to the database.