Dealing with clients

HI,

I’m a noob in what feels right now to be a horrible situation.

Can anything be done about a client who has basically wasted my time for the last 3 weeks if no written contract was signed? Their were meetings, emails and phone calls with notes exchanged etc but no contract as such.

The launch date was/is today and I got a call and an email last night saying that they basically changed their mind about everything. (layout, content, pages etc). Going back on things we had already discussed (repeatedly).

Now they want me to launch the Home page only with links to “coming soon” pages but even in this home page changes have been requested.

I emailed questionnaires and designs and what not, regularly for the last 3 weeks. We Spoke in the phone numerous times about content and layout etc.

Now less than 24 hours before the site is due to launch I am told that the graphic I spent time designing and making doesn’t even have the right “name” on it. Why did they wait until now to tell me that? Our initial meeting (Nov 6th) covered such basic topics, and designs including the banner/header were sent and agreed upon less than one week after the initial meeting.

What do I do? I am not an expert in this, infact I am a total beginner, this is my second site only but surely that doesn’t mean people can treat my time as if it doesn’t count.

I had work lined up for after this deadline but it sounds like the crowd due to launch today want me to keep working on this.

Any advice as how to handle people like this…?

it’s real simple – fire this client

you’ll have to forego payment for work done already, but judging by your experience, how easy do you think it would be to extract full payment for all your time?

just say “that’s it, i’m done, good luck with your site”

I agree with Rudy. Or you could ask to be paid for the work already done first, then sign a contract for the new work, and put it in your work schedule as YOU see fit.