Dealing with cross-browser margin and padding inconsistencies

So currently I’m working on this: http://0p2.rosstran.net

This was built off HTML5 Boilerplate which utilizes normalize.css, but even with this if you view the page on different browsers, different margins and paddings will occur on the navigation bar depending on the browser:

I’m new to the HTML5 Boilerplate/normalize.css and it kind of makes me wonder why use normalize.css if it can’t even get the margins/paddings consistent across browsers unless I’m doing something wrong? I’m pretty sure this wouldn’t be a problem if I used a normal CSS reset…

Anyway, what are my options to get the margins/padding consistent as it looks in the latest version of Chrome and IE 10? No JavaScript should be affecting it so I’m pretty sure you don’t need to look there. I know for sure that the latest versions of Opera (12.14) and Firefox (22.0) don’t render the nvagiation bar like the first two browsers I mentioned, and I don’t have the latest version of Safari since I don’t own a Mac unfortunately. And I haven’t even checked the older browser versions yet either…

Tips on CSS browser compatibility would be helpful as well!

Maybe if you remove the above HTML errors the different browsers may give better results.

Wow an HTML validator, I haven’t used those since my old XHTML days when I’d validate after almost every save… lol.

Just cleaned it up, but none of the errors were really big issues, mostly just multiple IDs due to some lazy copypasta. One error remains, but it’s reminiscent from the HTML5 Boilerplate so I’m pretty sure it isn’t causing any problems. The inconsistent navigation bar placement still persists.