Dedicated Hosting Newb

Hi all,

I’m an in-house web designer who has recently been asked to provide a client with the cost of dedicated hosting for a website that my company will develop and manage. As we have always hosted websites on our own established network, dedicated hosting is a new area for me. The type of website we are creating is a fairly simple one – roughly 30-60 pages, used to display information about the economy through text and static graphs (in image form) which will be maintained through a CMS like Joomla or EE. In terms of traffic, I think it would be about 1000 visitors per day and possibly 500 at one time a couple of times a month. I’ve been leaning towards a managed service since we do not have a fulltime IT person. So, in looking at different packages I’ve come across a lot of questions.

1. What considerations in terms of features should I be looking at when choosing a service?
  2. What is the extent of services that a managed plan should provide? Does it go beyond set up?
  3. Is there an optimal server set up to host a CMS like Joomla or EE?
  4. With the differences in monthly pricing being so large amongst different companies I’m having a hard time trying to establish a base. Below is a basic managed plan from RackSpace. In terms of specs and price can anyone give any insight to how this configuration stacks up?
  5. Would this configuration be appropriate for my site and anticipated traffic?

Basic One* - $419/mo.
• 1xDual-Core AMD Opteron
• 3.5GB RAM (DDR2)
• 2x250GB, 7.2K, SATA (RAID1)
• 2TB Bandwidth
• Managed® Service Level

I’m just beginning the process so I apologize if my questions are a little off-base or vague. If anyone could provide any insight to any I will greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

In all honesty you could probably get a quad core server elsewhere for cheaper, then get management from a company like touchsupport.com or platinumservermanagement.com.