Design Terms and Conditions - Unpragmatic graphic designer stalling project

Dear all, I am a software developer (not a graphic designer) who typically implements graphic designer’s designs, taking them from Photoshop/Illustrator and turning in to sites (CMS, payment solutions, or whatever the functional requirements are). We have done this for many projects and not had any issues until we did a job for a new graphic designer which has been a nightmare, specifically:

• They did not understand the difference between fixed and responsive and gave us a fixed 960px design only (no mention of different view layouts), we ended doing a responsive site for the same cost of a fixed site.
  • Now we have done the responsive site (using bootstrap) the designer is complaining the page elements are not sized exactly as per his design (in pixels) - we can get it nearest using specific spans but not absolute as that’s the nature of responsive design frameworks.
  • Requesting specific font weights (such as 250), whereas the closest match is either 200 or 300, that’s all the google font offers.
  • Requesting additional complex jquery menu rollovers that could take many hours to implement and were never agreed - all they are pointing to is a reference site which uses a similar complex technique and asking for the same

I am not talking about huge differences, to the end user the implementation would look spot-on and they are always extremely happy.

In this instance an unpragmatic perfectionist is stalling work if it is not pixel perfect due to implementation fundamentals - these are technical issues the designer does not understand or seems willing to accept, and it is draining in both time and energy having the same conversations and attempts to explain each and every time.