Designer or Developer, is it build in talent?

Firstly pardon me for not knowing where to post, but i heard meta is where general discussion take place.I need to know one concept that people have. I have heard that programmers are different bread. Designers are different and so on, one cannot learn another field, as designer cannot become programmer or developer.Is it true that a designer cannot be developer? lets say a web designer cannot become web or software developer or engineer? Or is it something that people say out of jealousy?
The question comes from my side as well because i just love php, database or languages but i have mostly stick to css and from there i jumped to wordpress, i can do excellent pseudo code i.e make a logic without programming on how things will be done but i consider myself failed when it come to execution.
Given that, i am not a wow designer too. I am only good with css which in my opinion, is very restricted and i want to enhance my career e.g i had a project which i know what and how to do in pseudo code but due to lack of logic and knowledge of javascript and php i wasn’t able to execute and i hired a guy. which did what i had in mind seeing that scenario, it makes me think, “can designers be developer or software engineer?”
I have seen many projects go under my nose just knowing i cannot execute as i am not a developer or software engineer but knowing how to make it work and be logical. Once i got hired as a senior software engineer and i had to struggle to do things, but i couldn’t and they laid in off as it was hard core php,mvc, and oop job. I got a comment from that boss saying “you were the worst person in history of our company that we hired” and another colleague told me “you were nothing” which was confusing to know what he meant by “you were nothing”. Everyone has right to get further and enhance career but then it comes right down to “can web designer be software engineer or web developer?”