Designing Presentation Folder

Hi there,
I know that this is not a question about web design, but it is about design nonetheless. I am new to a Graphics/Web Administrator job and I don’t really have a ‘mentor’ as I am the only web person in the office. I was asked to create a design for a presentation folder for the company - that is a folder that is handed out to prospective clients holding information about the company/business card slot/etc. I am fairly ‘green’ when it comes to print design. My knowledge basically consists of knowing the colour mode should be CMYK, 300 dpi, that sort of thing. I began by designing the layout in Illustrator, placing graphics that I created in Photoshop (I’m all about PS). Problem is, images tend to look distorted and just plain bad when brought in to illustrator and resized.

I guess my question is, what program should I be using to create the folder design? Would it be a bad thing to just do the whole design in Photoshop? I had the same problems with inDesign, and I know very little about that program. Any pointers would be appreciated.

Amber

Hi Amber. My first resonse is to say—just create the designs in Potoshop at the size they need to be printed. Then you won’t have to resize them. :slight_smile:

Ps is a pixel-program, so images don’t resize well, whereas Illustrator uses vectors which resize nicely. For print layouts, probably the best progra is InDesign, though. I’d say create your image in Ps at the size it needs to be then import into InDesign.

You might want to ask the printer if they have a template and if they require vector artwork. The shape of the product (physical layout) will probably be up to them, so you might as well start with that to lay your design over.

Doing a bitmap (Photoshop) design should be okay as long as it’s high resolution.