Detect viewport width and link stylesheet with if statement

Hello,
Could someone help me write a PHP script that detects the user’s viewport width, and I am guessing stores this in a variable, then checks if it is less than or equal to 1024px using an if statement and if so attaches a certain stylesheet, lets say alternative.CSS, but in the else part of the statement; therefore, if the viewport width is greater than 1024px, it attaches or links default.css

Thanks for your help, I apologise— im new to PHP, in advance.
I hope someone can help me write this script!

Regards,
Team 1504

You can’t do it using PHP, server-side languages process all their actions before the requested file gets downloaded by the end user therefore no information about the users PC will be received (apart from the IP address of course). There are only two ways you can perform such an action, the first is using JavaScript (bad idea for the many who have scripting disabled) or through CSS3 media queries (not supported in IE). If you want something cross browser that does the job and will work for everyone, you’re out of luck. The fact of the matter is, your design should be naturally flexible, not dependant on certain widths anyway.

Oh man that sucks… how do PHP scripts that detect mobile devices or and redirect to the mobile version of the site?
Or how facebook redirects to a specific page almost exactly to what device your using, iPhone, Wii, android, etc…?
Sorry if it sounded like I am saying that in a rude tone, I am not— its just I am frustrated and a little bummed out.

What if I added JavaScript that detected the viewport size because it is client side and then links a stylesheet accordingly… and also if I added mediaqueries. That way I would cover all the bases I could with this solution for now, correct?

I agree with Alex. PHP can’t detect a browser’s viewport dimensions.