Device-sniffing -- different screen dimensions

hi,

I’m fairly new to mobile development… and have discovered this interesting thing: for apple devices it’s very easy to distinguish betw iPhone and iPad (so you can very easily style differently for these two devices/screen dimensions); but the Android, as far as I know, covers both the smart phone and the tablet(s) right?? so is there a way to detect, when on Android, whether it’s the phone or the tablet? (testing for screen dimensions can be tricky, I suppose, since you don’t know whether user has it portrait or landscape… )

so the “Android” user-agent covers devices of different dimensions (and I don’t know how many Android tablets there are, if there is more than one Android tablet screen-dimension… and if all the Android phones have the same screen-dimensions…)

also: is there a way to easily test for whether iPad is traditional iPad or the new one?

(oh brother, this is getting out of hand… :wink:

thank you…

Just to clarify, to what end are you trying to determine this? If it’s just for styling purposes (i.e. CSS) you can do this with media queries. But I suspect that’s not the aim here.

well yes it IS about styling… (and about determining what content I include in some cases…)

ok, I guess I need to look @ media queries, it’s just that media queries confuse me a bit… for example, just found this pg,

example:
@media screen and (max-device-width : 320px)

here you’re saying do this for this-and-this dimension, but I was hoping for a way to autom. detect the dimension…

it’s not possible to more specifically detect devices? ok, I guess my questions is weird… but well, on this page, http://cssmediaqueries.com/ there’s nothing about Android, and also, it looks like you have to do diff media queries for whether portrait or landscape (and how does CSS detect when you chng orientation? )