Difference between "Factoring" and being a Third Party Processor

I’m new to this and trying to learn all the terms. I’m surprised to learn that Factoring is banned. Isn’t this exactly what third party processors do? They accept credit card payments on behalf of companies that are not them. Are they using some loophole, or do they have special arrangements?

Another example would be something like Airbnb, Lyft, or Skillshare. All three of these companies are ways for individuals (or companies) to accept a credit card payment from someone through the site. For example, if I rent out my room for 1 night for $100, but I don’t want to go through the hassle of setting up a merchant account, I can just do it through Airbnb. My guest will log onto Airbnb, pay $100 to Airbnb, and then stay in my room. Airbnb then pays me $98 or whatever. How is this different than Factoring?

Are there other ways to legitimately get around the Factoring ban?

(I have more questions, but I’ll leave it at that for now until I’m a little more established in this forum.)

Not a complete expert on this, and I’m a little confused as to what you’re looking for, but my understanding is that there is a distinct difference between a processor and a factor. A factor is buying an invoice, which means it’s not a loan or a processor. They are incurring the risk of someone not paying on that invoice and you’re paying a fee for immediate or quicker payment. As payment processor is a true middleman because they have the technology to process your transaction but take a piece of the pie. In that way they aren’t buying your invoice or transaction, they’re merely facilitating it as a service.