Displaying a value retrieved from an HTML request

I’m new to JS, and am sure this must be pretty basic, but I can’t seem to get it to work.

I am using a little bit of JS to retrieve a value from a web server into an app.

The JS looks like:

function done(response) {
console.log(response);
var json = JSON.parse(response);
console.log(json);
console.log(json.quote);
}

Request.get("http://www.mysite.com/mypage.php")
.then(done)
.catch(function(error) {
Quote.string = "hello world";
});

I have a text box on that screen that I want to display the retrieved string when a button is tapped.

With the code above using “hello world” it correctly displays “hello world”, so the button tap is working.

And I can see in the console log the correct retrieved value.

But I can’t get the retrieved value to appear in my Quote.string test box.

I have tried using:

var json
json
json.quote
response
(response)

Presumably if the value is getting retrieved it must be possible to call it to appear in the Quote.string?

Thanks.

Request and Quote aren’t part of normal JavaScript - are they part of some other kind of library or framework, like PencilCase, that you’re trying to work with?

The place where Quote.string currently is occurs when an error happens.
If you want a successfully retrieved response to be shown, you would have to do that from the done() function.

Oh look, there’s a 60 second video detailing exactly how to do it at the PencilCase HTTP request page too.

Sorry Paul, I’m an idiot. I am using Pencil case, and had been looking at that tutorial. The mistake I made was that my page on the web server had a bit of HTML, rather than literally just the required text. Plus I was trying to get it to fire a couple of triggers, so it looked like it was’t working, and I went a bit round the houses with it.