DIV inside DIV, second DIV has a top-margin - why doesn't even that work?

I’m a self-proclaimed novice developer. But I’m having a serious case of the mondays. Check this out:

This is my HTML:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
  <head>
  <title>Hello</title>
  </head>
  <body>

<div id="a">
    <div id="b">Hello</div>
  </div>

</body>
</html>

…and this is my CSS…

#a {
    background: #f00;
  }
  #b {
    background: #0f0;
    margin: 20px 0 0 0;
  }

Why won’t DIV #b push DIV #a up? I should see 20 pixels of DIV #a’s red background. But I don’t, unless I add overflow: auto or a border to DIV #a.

I know you’re all gonna laugh at me… but please let me know what to Google for to learn this strange behaviour!

Why won’t DIV #b push DIV #a up? I should see 20 pixels of DIV #a’s red background. But I don’t, unless I add overflow: auto or a border to DIV #a.

I know you’re all gonna laugh at me… but please let me know what to Google for to learn this strange behaviour!

No, this isn’t one of those silly easy questions, actually.

Hm, you’re probably hitting a few things here, but mostly “margin collapse”.

First, a is 100% wide by default but the only height it has is from #b’s content. Do your experiment with a set given height to both #a and #b, so you can see what’s happening easier.

Second, #a can’t get pushed “higher”… instead, you’re trying to push #b further down (because boxes are like soap bubbles… they’re already as close to the top left corner of their container (in this case, the body) as possible… all you can do most of the time is push them further away from that top left corner).

If you’re seeing some spacing between the edge of your browser and the #a box, that’s your browser’s default body padding showing up.