<div> positioning issue

Hi

I am new to using <div> for web page layout, and seem to be having a problem with positioning some <div>'s in line (horizontally) within an existing <div>. I tried display; inline; however that seems to remove the width control and margin, which i need to maintain. currently the relevant code is:

.css

.tablerow{
	position:relative;
	left:5px;
	top:10px;
	height: 30px;
	width:750px;
	border:1px solid black;
	background-color:white;
}

.house_name{
	postition:absolute;
	margin:2px;
	width:45px;
	height:24px;
	text-align:center;
	font-family:Arial;

}

.house_number{
	postition:absolute;
	left: 55px;
	top: 0px;

}

with HTML excerpt of

<div class="tablerow">
			<div class="house_name">Name</div>
			<div class="house_number">No.</div>
		</div>

If someone can point out to a newbie where he is going wrong i would appreciate it.

Many thanks in advance

You have to make the divs floating:

.house_name,
.house_number{
    float: left;
    display: inline; /* For older IE versions */
    font-family:Arial;

}

Since they both have the same properties you can combine them as above

Thank you Donboe - Perfect result!

(makes me wish i had asked 2 hours ago when i could still focus :wink: )

You got it working, so now you can take some rest :slight_smile:

A classic example on how not to do it!

<div class=“tablerow”> === BAD

A <div>!= <td> !!!

I suspect you’re going about it the wrong way :slight_smile:

Is that because he has a class name tablerow noonnope?

.tablerow{
}

I’d like to provide an alternative solution:

div.tablerow div {
  display: inline-block;
}

This will work fine for IE8 and every other modern browser.

IE6 and 7 can only make naturally inline elements inline-block, but if you don’t mind a hack, then you can also add

div.tablerow div {
  display: inline-block;
  zoom:1;
  *display:inline;
}