Do I need a CMS?

I am very new to web designing any only recently got my head around CMS systems and unsure whether I need CMS or to do the updates my self.

I am designing a site for a friend/client who is wanting to make updates to the ‘news’ page and the ‘news posts’ on the home page. I will be using XHTML/CSS to design the site and not sure if i could intergrate a CMS to update the news sections (only possibly) or if i should ask the client to email me the content to update my self.

Any comments ill be greatly appriciated.

Better late than never on this one…

Anyways, it sounds like you’ve already built the site and you need something simple to edit existing content, am I right? If so, try out Surreal CMS and see if it suits your needs. It’s very simple so you shouldn’t have any problems with it.

If you’re looking for a suggestion for a website that you have yet to create, you probably want to consider something a bit more dynamic. WordPress is flexible and easy to get going, so definitely look into that.

I hope that helps :slight_smile:

I think you need CMS anyway, let me explain. In the future, if the site will be popular (I hope it will) and your client will want to add more features for the customers or modify the existing content, it will be a pain to modify something or add a new functionality.

We have had many clients who wanted to move their old static HTML site into CMS. As a result, client actually need to pay twice, firstly for creation of static site and then later when he/she want to move it to some CMS. So I think it will be more suitable for your client (and you too) to use CMS.

There are so many CMS on the market now, so I think there is no problem to chose a one suitable for you (for instance, Joomla or Wordpress).

Thank you aksival and DesignMaster.