Do I need to give them a W9 Form?

I have been doing design work for a startup non-profit, on and off, for the past few months. I have dealt directly with the owner, we have had a very simple and pleasant arrangement, she requests something, I do the work to her satisfaction, I send her an invoice, and she sends me a check.

Recently, she turned the business part over to an independent contract “business person”, accountant, or whatever they are, and this person has (despite being rude as heck) decided to make some problems for me and tell me that she cannot pay me anymore unless I fill out and turn in a W9 form to her.

I told her that I dont think I need to give her a W9 as I am not a contractor for the non-profit, I am only selling a service (I used an analogy of someone who comes to clean the carpet, i know HE doesnt have to fill out a W9).

Anyway, this is my first time dealing with this kind of request (although, unfortunately, not my first time dealing with this kind of person) …and I was wondering if there is someone who knows about these things better than I do.
Thanks.

Businesses are required to file W-9 forms for the independent contractors they hire.

Here’s the description.

Fill out the form.

I don’t feel comfortable with it, maybe its just that this woman has used it as a power issue, basically telling me that she will not pay me (for work I have already done) until/unless I fill out this form and give it to her.
I feel that I should have been informed that the ‘terms of business’ were going to change either before I was asked to do the last project, or after I was paid for it. Not after I did it, and then have my pay withheld until I agree to these new terms.

This is a discussion I’ve had many times before–I used to be the person in charge of collecting W-9 forms from vendors & contractors for a large school district.