Do you believe in ghosts?

One of the reasons I married my wife is because we believe in a lot of the same stuff. We have similar political beliefs, similar ideas about parenting, and basically we have a lot in common.

Except this: she believes in ghosts. You know, departed souls that haven’t found their resting place, haunted houses. She swears black and blue that a house she rented once was haunted, and she heard the chains clanking in the attic every night. We don’t talk about it anymore because it’s one of those topics that, if I suggest there might be an alternative explanation, it becomes an argument. :slight_smile:

I think her belief in the supernatural might extend to tarot cards, mediums and all that jazz, but to a lesser degree (I think she knows that stuff is baloney, but it’s exciting to think that it might be true, so she doesn’t completely rule it out).

This is bizarre to me. I guess my scientific upbringing (I have an engineering degree) means that my rational, logical brain prevents me from swallowing the possibility that there are invisible souls wandering around that used to be living people but now just hang out in derelict housing, clanking chains and scaring people.

Of course, having someone close who doesn’t believe in absolutely everything the same as you keeps things interesting. And I’m not suggesting that there aren’t things in this world that science can’t explain. But ghosts? Really?

What about you? Do you believe in ghosts? Have any first hand chilling tales to tell? I’d love to hear them! I promise to keep an open mind!

disappointing :nono: :lol:

//youtu.be/T69TOuqaqXI