Do you do OOP?

Do you?

If you do, what are the steps you take from design to actual production?

I’m a lonely programmer and I keep repeating codes. Haven’t realized the power of OOP yet cause I don’t know how to start. Don’t know what are the classes I need. Don’t know how to design classes that could be used in other projects. :blush:

PHP’s manual has a bit on OOP:
http://www.php.net/oop

If you do not insist on writing code from scratch, use an OOP framework like CodeIgniter, Symfony, or CakePHP

My experience says too that OOP is very good.
I like the style of book .
If you want to use a framework I thing that it is obvious to practice first and then to use it at a production evironment.
Look also at yiiframework.com

What are people’s thoughts on Yii Framework?

To design classes that could be used in other projects, you should, for example, not have dependencies inside your class, instead add those dependencies after object creation
$model = New Model();
$model->SetDataBaseConnectionString(“…”);

I use Yii and my opinion is that is a good framework.
It use OOP and MVC patern, you may as example extend a base class of the framework or use and extend other classes or just create your own.
You may look here

thats a very nice book you recommended dimis283 :slight_smile:
Yii is something new to me. how does it compare to those popular ones like zend, cakephp, codeigniter?

i guess to design a software, we should start with a UML diagram? any recommended open source solution for that? like i’m using mysql workbench for doing ERD diagrams.

Yii is relative new but has its base at prado, I used CI and I thing Yii is a better choice.
As I notice have many simiralities with cake as they are from Ruby on Rails as they saying.
Netbeans.org has support of uml and php.