Do you think its necessary to have a PO box?

Do you guys think its necessary to have a PO box for online stuff? I just moved and am wondering if I should have a PO box in the new city I live in? What do you think?

It depends on how you are running your business. If you are planning on earning over 70k a year as a business (not a tall order), it makes sense to establish a ltd company, and in order to do that, yes, a physical registered address is a legal requirement: http://www.bytestart.co.uk/content/19/19_1/company-registered-address.shtml

If you are operating as a sole trader, your physical address should be present on any invoices to ensure that the inland revenue is able to verify your tax returns - and that address should be lodged with them. You don’t need a registered business address per se, but it amounts to the same thing.

I’m a sole trader but I don’t really consider it in the same respects as a physical address of business. When I file my tax return with my income statements (and the documentation required) I of course have my address listed but that’s tied to me as an individual earning through my own means rather than the business itself having an independent address. I know we’re picking holes here but I’ve never considered them in the same respect from a sole trader to a Ltd company. Sole traders trade under their own name (often with a brand to represent them - as the business name) but Ltd businesses have more of an official status in respect to a fixed business address (which as you noted is required to be placed on invoices). As for me, I’ve not bothered to go Ltd as my business running costs are exceptionally low and I’m very careful about separating business from personal earnings. I get the benefits of limited liability but as things stand the extra hassle and paperwork isn’t right for my situation. As an interesting side note, I was a director of an Ltd when I was 16 (my business partner couldn’t keep the pace up so I resigned to go it so