Does anyone know Open University?

Hi! this is my first post, hello to all!

I’m a developer and I want to study at university, but because of job I have to do it at distance. I was reading about Open University http://www.open.ac.uk/, do you know it? Is it a good reputation university? I know there’s some people from UK here, but the question is not only for them, what do you think about this? Is good having a undergraduate from here? I’m living in Spain and well, few people knows this university and speaks very well about it, but studying from here is expensive so I just wanted to ensure that is a good choice and a cool line on your cv.

Thanks!

It has a good reputation and a lot of mature students study at OU and I know few people that have gained some good qualifications and jobs from a result of studying at OU. It shows commitment and self-discipline if you complete a course there since usually it has to be done while you are holding down a job, etc. I’d probably consider OU if I were to go back again to university obviously depending on courses available, etc.

The Open University is good. A lot of people won’t rate it as highly as a degree from a typical university, but if you receive a typical Bachelors then it’s as good as anywhere else in my eyes.

Studying in the UK is quite expensive so if cost is a factor I would recommend looking elsewhere. Is it not possible for you to study in Spain?

Definately, Spanish Open University is by far much cheaper than Uk’s :smiley:

But not everyone can study in Spanish though.

Yes… Spanish open university (UNED) is cheaper, a lot, but it’s quite awful for studying IT, the prices anyway in Spain are increasing a lot every year, specially last year. Here in Catalonia there’s the UOC (Catalonia Open University) but it’s private, almost as expensive as OU. I speak Catalan but I’d rather studying in English, I’m also seriously considering moving into UK… and in this way being a student won’t be an obstacle.