Drop-down menu not showing up

I’ve been doing some basic web design for several years, most using Dreamweaver, Fireworks, and Textmate. I’ve used CSS in all of my projects, but I’ve never built any sites exclusively using CSS. I’ve always used tables for the layout/structure of the sites and used CSS for rest.

I am now working a redesign, and I am building the site exclusively in CSS, Javascript, and XHTML. I’ve learned a ton, just in the last few weeks!

I am trying to get the navigation to look like this, with drop-down menu in front of the banner; but when I integrate the navigation into my html file (located [URL=“http://covschool.org/new/”]here) the drop-down menu is going behind the banner. I don’t know if this is a CSS issue or a javascript issue.

I have used several generator sites to help get me started, which have been a real time saver (and yes, I will be giving the generators credit once the site is completed). I used PixoPoint’s drop-down menu generator for the navigation.

Hi,
The #banner div is getting it’s z-index set to 1001 via the fadeslideshow.js on line 225.

(scroll all the way to the right)

adddescpanel:function($, setting){
        setting.$descpanel=$('<div class="fadeslidedescdiv"></div>')
            .css([B]{position:'absolute'[/B], visibility:'hidden', width:'100&#37;', left:0, top:setting.dimensions[1], font:fadeSlideShow_descpanel.fontStyle, [B]zIndex:'1001'[/B]})
            .appendTo(setting.$wrapperdiv)

That is really overkill and it was just set that high to make sure nothing layered above it.

I would change it to something reasonable like z-index:10 in the script.

Then you would just need to set the dropdown ul higher than that.

[B]#primary-nav ul[/B] {
    position:absolute;
    [B]z-index:11;[/B]
    left:-999em;
    height:auto;
    width:270px;
    font-weight:normal;
    margin:0;
    line-height:1;
    border:0;
    border-bottom:1px solid #000000;
    }