eCommerce, data input and SEO

Hi guys,

I am new to this section of the forum, so for all you that don’t know me ‘hi!’.

A CMS website typically has between 8 - 20 pages, and the content is inputting by the client. I support them on this which works well, since they want to learn and it’s not a mammoth task.

An eCommerce website is a little different as your site could quite possibly have over 2000 products. Data input can be a LONG and BORING job! Now, how do you handle eCommerce data entry?

Normally when working with WP or Drupal the only way to add products (for many) is to manually add them. Recently I purchased a template from templatic.com and they advised I do this. Now unfurtunately I’ve been working on this for around 4-hours and I’ve only managed to do half of the products. I still have a lot more to do.

Prior to this, I was unaware that there would be some many products. What would you do? Another pressing issue is for the client to get sales. In order for them to get sales, people would have to find them.

I recently visited somebody in my small lonely country who launched their eCommerce site a couple of months ago. They are now complaining to me that they’re not getting any sales on their website. Luckily for me I was not the one involved in their site. The issue is that the website was not at all SEO and people cannot find them. They were given advice by the company to give another x amount of money in order to SEO them. The poor lady is not creating her own Facebook page attempting to push up sales. I told her the grim truth that in the end she’d probably need a new website as a result of it’s platform, design and broken structure. She did not seam much pleased.

Can you see the dilemma in question? In order for us to sell, in particular with eCommerce, their website needs to go additional work so people can find them. That won’t sound to music like their ears to many prospects.