eCommerce Research

I am a software engineer looking to start providing shopping cart integration and development services to eCommerce businesses but before I get started I want to validate that there is a need for this type of service.

If anyone can help me by answering the following questions for me it would be a great help.

1. Have you ever paid for anything like this?
  2. If so what is a typical (ballpark) budget for a project like this?
  3. Is this a high priority for you?
  4. What factors are the most / least important to you when deciding who to hire?
  5. What has been your biggest frustration with people providing services like this in the past?

Thanks in advance!

I don’t know if I would personally see the need for it as there are products like magneto, prestashop and woocommerce which do that already. So unless you are writing a niche product like say a shopping cart for Google app engine using Google wallet or something like that but then your target market will be much smaller.

I don’t know if I would personally see the need for it as there are products like magneto, prestashop and woocommerce which do that already.

I think he is talking about implementing shopping carts like magneto, prestashop and woocommerce into peoples websites.

Shopping carts are complicated to setup and the average user would have a problem. You have the styling and layout to modify as well as all the categories, products, postage etc.

I think there could be an opening but I do not know if you would find enough custom to make it a business.

Let me clarify. By shopping cart integration I mean setting up an existing shopping cart like Shopify for someone and as for development services I was thinking along the lines of custom apps or themes for shopping carts like Shopify.

Thanks for the feedback.