Edit website in HTML

Hi-

I’m new to all this, but I hope to find an answer to a question. (My apologies beforehand if I’ve made mistakes in handling all this…)

I have new website that’s hosted by a hosting site. The website is in HTML. I’d like to make one tiny edit (without nagging my former designer).

I want to delete someone’s last name and replace it with their last initial. I tried to go into my website and do this myself (on a page that said “File Manager”–it looks like a file in Text Edit [no code except to indicate quotation marks and apostrophes]). When I did, it changed all the apostrophes and quotation marks to “B”'s on that page. I had to restore the page to the original and give up, because the support people couldn’t help me.

I read a little bit about HTML on here and some other sites. It seems like this shouldn’t be difficult. Do you think I should go into the actual HTML file and delete the name, replace it with the initial, and be sure the code marker immediately follows? (I think it’s: </b><br />

Sorry to be long-winded. I’m a humanities person, not a techie…obviously :slight_smile:

Thanks very much.

Are you using CPanel for the File Manager, or some other system?

Yes, you should be able to just alter the text, but leave anything in <>s alone!

Hi,
Thanks. I’m hosting through GoDaddy. I don’t know what system they use for the File Manager. Yesterday, their “Support” only said, “The web designer must have done something with the HTML code that we don’t know about. And maybe a period isn’t really a period.” They had me make the change while they were on the phone, and it still changed the quote marks and apostrophes to B’s. Truthfully, I think they just want to sell me another product.

When I tried to make the change myself, all I did was delete the name and insert a period. I didn’t touch anything in the brackets.

I’d love to fix this myself so as not to have to get back to my former designer.