Editing .vod DVD files

I’m a webmaster that normally deals with fairly small file for presentation on websites. However, a client has a DVD where we may have potential for a small video clip to be placed on the website in .mpg, .swf or .wmv format.

First step, I purchased an www.lge.com external DVD rewriter, which with some issues (windows can’t seem to find an installation disk), but seems to read and write to the drive in DVD format just fine.

I copied the files over to my hard drive and what I want is contained in some of the .vod files which I can play several ways including with the PowerProducer Gold which seems to allow catching part of the file. However, when I reach the end, I can’t seem to save the file on the hard disk, but may be able to burn a CD.

Dawned on me that I may not be the only web person over their head in video editing. What are other’s using? I’m considering buying another software product called DVDZip 3.1, which does seem to read the .vod files and produce .mpg, avi (without audio) and .wmv files. Then maybe I could use Movie Maker to edit the files?

<sign> seems like every time I turn around in the video area there is more software to buy and it seems like the tools I have should do the functions.

Suggestions - what are others doing?

mac dvd converter can convert dvd

Reconvert the .VOD files to a format such as the ones you described, then re-edit files and import into flash (depending on MB files sizes) Fash will convert to FLV or SWF for streaming. Using the AVI or MOV format opens a can of worms as far as downloaded plugins, mac users may not want to download an AVI codec and vice vera for PC owners and the MOV. Most browsers have flash or can play a SWF file & those that don’t have a flash plugin you will have no chance of getting them to grab and movie codec at 10+mb.

Try searching SOURCEFORGE.org for a VOD to avi program.

You may take a look at this software: http://www.dvd-converter.com