Element Fade Out - Compatibility Coding

I’m very new to javascript and web development. I’m looking to implement a fade in / fade out mechanism in a site I’m working on. I don’t know how to make it accessible for more browsers. Here’s a little test version:

<h1 id="myh1" onclick="fadeout();">Click Me</h1>
<script type="text/javascript">

var fadeobject = document.getElementById('myh1');
var x=10;
var mytimer="";

function fadeout(){ mytimer = window.setInterval("dofade()",50); }

function dofade(){

if(x>0){ 

var y=x/10;

fadeobject.style.opacity=y; 
	x-=1; 

}else{ 
	window.clearInterval(mytimer);

fadeobject.style.visibility='hidden';
	}
}

</script>

This works on my ie (9), ff (8) and chrome (16.0.9…). But I gather that opacity will not work on other/older browsers. Plus I need to cater for those with javascript off.

How can i edit it to fade on other widely used browsers that don’t support ‘opacity’?

How can i edit it so that the h1 will just disappear if opacity is not supported?

How do i check if opacity is supported?

How do i make it just disappear if javascript isn’t on?

I welcome any other comments about the way I’ve chosen to do the fade.

(if you’re wondering why I use the ‘y’ variable like that, for some reason when I was decrementing x by 0.1 it was coming out with weird values, changing to 0.90000011234 or something rather than just 0.9)

Thx.

You can use the filter declaration for those other browsers, but you’ll need to make sure hasLayout is active for them, such as:

filter: alpha(opacity=50);
-moz-opacity: 0.5;
-khtml-opacity: 0.5;
opacity: 0.5;
display: inline-block;

Or:

filter: alpha(opacity=50);
-moz-opacity: 0.5;
-khtml-opacity: 0.5;
opacity: 0.5;
zoom: 1;

For all of those, you would use scripting to add the h1 to the page.