EndNote .enl files to Access database or MS SQL database

I’m new to web development and this is my second site and the first client. They use “EndNote” Program to store their library data & need these data to be displayed online.

Is there a way to use that EndNote .enl file data for a web application, [I hope to do this using ASP VB script] or is there a way to convert or export/import .enl file data to a Access database or MS SQL database?

Also if you know any resources, tutorial or example site regarding this situation please let me know.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge and time to help others through this forum.

aen,

First of all, can you give us an example of what’s in an “.enl” file? Is it text? -Binary data? (open up w/ Notepad & check!)

If it’s not plain text, then it sounds to me like it’s a proprietary file format, in which case, don’t waste your time trying to figure out how to parse & read it.
FIRST, put some time into researching the EndNote application to see if the data can be exported in a common format like CSV (comma separated values), TSV (tab delimited), Excel, or just plain ol’ text… From there, Access & SQL Server are pieces of cake…

Also, find out if EndNote has an ODBC driver. Maybe you can use ASP to read data directly from EndNote instead of trying to parse and import flat files…

-Dan

Hi Dan,

Thanks for the reply. When I open an .enl file with note pad, it’s not plain text

I can’t find any driver indicating endnote in the ODBC drivers tab. However this .enl file can be exported to text file [txt], rich text file [rtf] and html [htm]. Could you please tell me how to get them in to a database please?

[COLOR=SlateGray]Here is a record that is exported to .txt

Reference Type: Report
Record Number: 772
Author: ICG
Year: February 2003
Title: Aceh: A Fragile Peace
City: Brussels
Institution: International Crisis Group
Pages: 25
Report Number: Asia Report No. 47
Accession Number: hg