Eval as part of ajax shell.. bad idea?

I’m just learning ajax and have been using a pretty straightforward shell for writing the response text on state changed:

document.getElementById("htmlid").innerHTML = xmldoc.getElementsByTagName("xmltagname")[0].childNodes[0].nodeValue;

A friend showed me a way where the state changed function is basically just

eval(xmldoc.getElementsByTagName("ajax")[0].childNodes[0].nodeValue);

and then you just build the ajax tag in the php file adding to it all the javascript document replaces etc using a function. It is actually much quicker to code because everything is in the same document. Plus it allows me to write javascript out to the page and have it actually run (I wasn’t able to get the ajax to send you to a new page otherwise)

I’ve heard people being down on eval though because it can be slow and risky security-wise. But also seen that this is the one place where it’s ok/good(?) to use.
Should I be concerned about that? This is for a form that accesses and writes to a database, but it’s all done through php and none of that php is returned back to the js file, only innerHTML and document.replace.

I know there’s not necessarily one ‘right way’. But I’d be interested on opinions, because I like the idea of best practices but as a newcomer I find it difficult to know/evaluate what is

curious to get some opinions here…? it’s a longtime programmer’s recommendation against my teacher’s, and I’d just like to see some thoughts, since right now I’m sort of unsure which way to favour.

Just so I get this right… is there JavaScript with “document replaces” in your XML doc that you want executed?

It might be better to have your AJAX request fetch a set of data or markup (whether that be JSON or XML) that then replaces content. So you have all of your JavaScript in one place and your data in the other.

Would you be able to give some code samples of what you are retrieving in your ajax request?

sure thing!