Exactly How: To make pixel perfect HTML/CSS from PNG/PSD?

Hi,

I am a UI developer for Accenture in India and my job is to convert designs - PSD/PNG - in XHTML and CSS. I’ve been doing it and the client was receiving it nicely until another client who wanted exact pixel perfection in the HTML/CSS coded. How can I achieve that? So that each padding, margin is just perfect bas in the design? Is there a proper process for it?

What I generally do is, I measure the basic widths, heights of blocks and then code them. I tend to ignore paddings and margins for each and every little piece of content.

How do I go about doing it?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

The only way to get a pixel perfect web page is to post an image of the page from Photoshop and forget about HTML and CSS. :slight_smile:

Of course, that’s not possible, so you have to put up with the rendering differences of the various browsers. Really, this is a question of education. A client who wants pixel perfection needs to be taught that this is not what the web is about. Content needs to be allowed to appear differently on browsers in a wide range of circumstances, from different viewport sizes to people who have different default settings like increased font sizes. I would not continue with a client that didn’t get that message quickly.

[font=verdana]As Ralph says, you’re on a fool’s errand if you’re trying to get pixel perfection. There are a number of reasons for that:

1. Different browsers on different OSs sometimes interpret the same code in minutely different ways. It’s rarely a big deal, but it can make a small difference. Sometimes those small differences can add up to a bigger difference – eg a paragraph of text that wraps an extra word onto the line below can then need an extra line, which can knock a pixel-perfect design right out.