Experience with APC Backup Batteries

So I have a backup battery tied to my main computers (as where I lived prior, it was common to get power surges), this morning the battery in it completely died and so the APC refused to distribute any power to the devices that were plugged in.

Does this sound right to any one else? I thought these type of devices were used with Servers and wouldn’t this be a terrible response to a dead battery? All of a sudden your server goes down because the battery died and won’t hold a charge… doesn’t seem like a logical response to me, but I’m new to these devices (this was my first one) and I am curious if others had similar experiences.

Thanks.

My understanding is that the batteries have an expected life of several years after which you will need to replace the dead battery. The UPS powering the servers at my main client ended up with a completely dead battery about a year ago (after about five years of use) and the decision was made to upgrade the UPS rather than just replace the dead battery. The UPS I have on my main computer is only about two years old and so I would expect to get at least another two or three years out of the current battery.

If the batteries last about five years then you end up with the server it protects going down once in five years due to power issues rather than going down every time there are power issues.