Expression Web

I am currently doing a course in Web Design- the current module I am studying is in regards to Microsoft Expression Web, does anyone use this to design websites?

As I haven’t really heard anyone mention on these forums as of yet?

Just curious really :slight_smile:

Hmm. MS Expression Web has been Discontinued for quite a while. In either case I wouldn’t have thought many people would have used it for producing markup - even when it was active. The hands should code; not the program; so it’s probably a case of the tutor just wanted to use a free editor and had written course material using that program years ago.

Thanks for the swift response, I didn’t know it was discontinued.

The course was written in 2008, and they favour Microsoft programs- I didn’t really enjoy using Expression, will stick to Dreamweaver from now on.

Thanks again

Sounds more like a history course than a web design course. Colleges are notorious for being behind the times, so beware of that.

Yep I’ve found that @ralph_m A few bits are outdated. But the majority of it have given me some good fundamentals, and use online tutorials to take it to the next stage

I’ve known teachers also to not keep up with the times. You will get the odd teacher who tries to teach you using their own personal favorites, but it’s not necessarily the right road to go down. When I studied my web design module a while ago, I had already been doing it for years, and the teacher too didn’t really know much more than creating some divs and putting the images in it. Constantly I heard teachings of certain wrong doings in web development world, but obviously I wouldn’t want to correct him as that would be rude, but just an example.