Extracting Year, or Year/Month, or Full Date

I’m new to PHP and I am hoping that some here can help me further with date formatting in PHP. I have a range of dates that sometimes are as follows: 1914-00-00, or 1952-12-00 or 1990-01-31. Because some of the dates are historical, I don’t always have a month or a day.

I want the dates to display as follows (from example above):

Dec 1952
01 Jan 1990

I’m trying to work with the following example, however it’s not working at all (opened is in DATE format)…

$result = mysqli_query($link, ‘SELECT store, opened FROM storez’);

while ($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result))
{
$supply = array(‘store’ => $row[‘store’], ‘opened’ => row[‘opened’]);
}

<div>
<?php echo date(‘M’,strtotime($item[‘opened’])); ?>
<?php echo date(‘d’,strtotime($item[‘opened’])); ?>,
<?php echo date(‘Y’,strtotime($item[‘opened’])); ?>
</div>

The dates that come back are as follows, which are not even close…

Nov 30, 1938
Dec 31, 1969
Nov 30, 1977

Hopefully, someone can help me with this problem. Maybe someone has run into this before? I’m sure it’s an easy fix, I just can’t think of another way. I’m trying to stay away from modifying the query, however if that is the only way, I’ll go down that road. Thank you again for reading my post and any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. --Ben

1. why the multiple echo and <?php ?> for nothing?

2. what is the typical contents of $item[‘opened’] – are you sure that the value stored there is in fact a string type time valid for strtotime to process?

3. Not actually seeing $item being defined, and not sure what the while/query before it is even for… especially since your making an array entry identical to $row, and with mysqli you could just use fetch_all.

Filling in the missing blanks, I suspect this is what you are TRYING to do…

$result=$link->query('SELECT store,opened FROM storez');
$supply=$result->fetch_all(MYSQLI_ASSOC);

foreach ($supply as $item) {
	echo '