-f parameter ignored?

Can you help me find out what’s wrong with this?

I’m not an Apache programmer, one of the few things I thought I do know is that -f means “is not a file”, which triggers when “not found”, but now i doubt it.

These are my rules, and the problem is that the verification file from google e.g. /8377rsomecode.html is not found (it’s a real file, not a wordpress page)

It should be NOT catched by line marked with ***********

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^blog/(.*)\\.html http://%{SERVER_NAME}/$1 [R=301,L]
#
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} =!blog/page/.*
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} =!blog/tag/.*
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} =!blog/category/.*
RewriteRule ^blog/(.*) http://%{SERVER_NAME}/$1 [R=301,L]
# remaining.html files
RewriteRule ^(.*)\\.html$ /$1 [R=301,L]************
#
# BEGIN WordPress
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^index\\.php$ - [L]
RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
</IfModule>

# END WordPress

Sergio,

The -f will match a file which exists just as -d will match a directory which exists. The !-f and !-d negate these, i.e., if the request is neither a file nor directory, then …

Other problems:

1. [rant #4][indent]The definition of an idiot is someone who repeatedly does the same thing expecting a different result. Asking Apache to confirm the existence of ANY module with an <IfModule> … </IfModule> wrapper is the same thing in the webmaster world. DON’T BE AN IDIOT! If you don’t know whether a module is enabled, run the test ONCE then REMOVE the wrapper as it is EXTREMELY wasteful of Apache’s resources (and should NEVER be allowed on a shared server).[/indent][/rant 4]

OMG! Not only do you make this test once but TWICE!

1. What does “catched” (cached) have to do with mod_rewrite code?

2. Other coding problems:

[COLOR="#FF0000"]<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
# Where did this get closed?[/COLOR]
RewriteEngine On