Facebook posts

Hi,

I am trying to set up a facebook page for my school, and we have a few concerns about posting vs just like.

We are struggling to find out which would be better, as a post or like page.

Our reasoning behind setting it up will be for updates, reminders etc, however, our principal would like to give parents permission to write, but some of the parents fly off the handle and then calm down, and who knows what they will write when they are in these moods.

So I guess my questions are:

Can we set up the page so that when people post we can view it first?

If we set up as a like page, is that going to limit the parents who like it?

Open to suggestions and any answers,
Sorry if it went on for too long I have never done this before.

Hi StaceyFitz. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

Can we set up the page so that when people post we can view it first?

This is more something you’d do on your own website. Facebook and similar sites are social media, where you don’t have as much control over how people interact with the page. If you are afraid of what people might say, I’d suggest not putting up a page at all.

If we set up as a like page, is that going to limit the parents who like it?

Not sure what you mean by a Like page. You can set up a page on Facebook for a business or other organization. It is quite similar to a personal page. People can “Like it”, comment on it, follow it etc.

check out the privacy settings, there are many settings you can take advantage of that will help you accomplish exactly what you are looking for…

I don’t think there are limitations besides the actual amount of friends you have…

You want to control people or at least their visible actions. While that’s a common thought it’s simply no longer possible.