First eCommerce site

I am building a website for a client and they wish to add a small shop section (only 20 or so items), this is my first time with eCommerce and I will have to learn as I go along. I have purchased the required software and it seems straight forward enough to integrate it into the website I am building but I just have a quick question if anyone can help.

Are there any special hosting/server requirements I need to ensure I have on my current hosting package before I tell the client I can definatly do this?

The hosting requirements will vary by the type of software and payment method you plan to use.

Do you have an ecommerce package in mind? Will you take credit cards directly on the site or will people be sent to a third party like paypal to transact?

No, you need nothing more from the hosting, as it`s a small ecommerce, you should accept payment through 3rd party gateways like PayPal.

Have you considered something like BigCommerce?

Magento is the best platform for that, you should analyze your product first then check market place for that then go for it.

Yes …You are right you go with PayPal…

I do need to object to one or two of the comments here regarding PayPal. Although we certainly recommend having PayPal as one of the payment options that customers are offered, having only PayPal will really hurt a website’s conversions rate. Although we may know that it is not necessary to have a PayPal account to use a credit card, when people are taken off of your website to make a payment on PayPal’s website, PayPal makes it seem like you need to set up an account. Many people do not want to set up an account and will leave the page (and your website) immediately - right when they were about to make a purchase! Also, because PayPal has burned so many bridges over the years, there are hundreds of thousands of people who refuse to ever purchase through PayPal.