Fitting text into a container

Hello

I found these forums by accident after a Google search to problem solve an issue I was having with my website build. I’ve learnt so much already - thank you!

As my user name suggests, I’m an amateur at web design and so forgive me if this question seems extraordinarily dumb to some of you and also I apologise in advance for the non-technical language but I hope to convey what I am trying to achieve! (I did search the forums before posting but didn’t find what I was looking for).

So I have a body background image set for my design in my css file and also a background image for the container, which I intend all my text and images to sit within. The background image has a height of 1100px. For most of my pages this is perfectly adequate but for a couple the text overshoots the image.

So I wondered if it was possible to extend the background image somehow? I did think about repeating it but it has curved edges and a border so I can’t see how this would work.

The only work-around my pea brain can think of (other than reducing the text!) would be to create another [bigger] image and creating a separate div id for those pages with more text than fits within the 1100px container.

Any other suggestions, please? (You may have to speak slowly as I’m a bit slow at this :blush: :rolleyes:)

Many thanks in advance!

Hi, novicehere. Welcome to the forums.

It sounds like you want to adjust the size of the background image in the text container.

If the size and aspect ratio of that image is not important, then you can use:

background-size:100% 100%;

and it will scale to fit the area required. That means that the dimensions will change to fill the container used by the text.

Another possibility might be:

background-size:cover;

but since the image has curved edges, that will probably not be satisfactory.

If neither of these work, let us know.

Cheers.

Hi ronpat

Thank you for your quick reply and for your welcome.