Flat PHP vs Symfony2 : What would you do?

Hi,

I have already the parts below (I got all of these from Github so they’re quite secure, I think) in my project and it’s ready to go live, but a few days ago, I started learning Symfony2 and I think it’s a very good framework but it has a learning curve just like any other framework.

-Dropzone (Including file upload, handling, etc)
-File upload class
-Register/Login (This one is also secure, I used a popular Github project so it’s tested by many people)
-Validation class (GUMP)
-Functions for security (htmlspecialchars, etc)
-MySQLi wrapper class (I don’t need to use prepared statements, it’s already built in)
-I have created my own .htaccess file, it’s quite big and all my urls are pretty.
-My folders are well structured and I tried to keep spaghetti code at minimum. I include things I need above the php file, so PHP and HTML are separated as much as possible.

I still have security concerns, though.

Should I port my existing codebase to Symfony2 anyway OR keep developing with my own way until I hire a developer? Right now I’m the only one who’s dealing with the website.

If you’re ready to go live, then I vote go live; start attracting a user base. Meanwhile, you can work on learning and porting to Symfony, then switch out the codebases when you’re ready.

Just FYI: Anyone can host anything on github. Just because you found code on github doesn’t mean it’s secure.

This is worrying (maybe it was just worded badly). MySQLi provides prepared statements as a feature, that’s true, but you still need to use that feature. You still need to use prepared statements.

1 Like

I’m using the one below, it allows me to write less code.

It says “Wrapper for a PHP MySQL class, which utilizes MySQLi and prepared statements.”.