For Love or Money: What Inspires You to Code?

There’s an interesting article over at JAXenter that’s worth a read: What motivates developers? (Hint: probably not money)

The conclusions drawn there are pretty interesting, and they are based on very solid research. The essential thesis is that people engaged in work requiring conceptual, creative thinking—which includes web development!—get more satisfaction from their work, and produce better results, not through bigger rewards, but instead through a sense of autonomy, mastery and purpose. (Those concepts are further explained in the article.)

The video accompanying the article gives nice examples of projects that don’t make a lot of sense from an old-fashioned view of economics—projects like Linux, Apache, Git and so on. In the world of web development we are inundated with free offerings. Why?

This certainly rings true for me. I used to be a teacher, and was fortunate to have a boss who gave me a lot of freedom to try new things, set my own goals and purpose. I rarely spared a thought for what I was getting paid. As a web designer, I’ve always been happiest when let loose by clients to be creative and experimental. I’m always happy to spend many extra, unpaid hours to learn something new to include in a project.

So, what motivates you as a coder, developer or designer etc? Have you been involved in an open source project, and if so, why? If you had a choice between getting paid more or having more freedom to do what you love, what would you choose, and why?

1 Like

I love the satisfaction of building dynamic sites, especially where complex data and/or structured content is involved. For me it’s in the detail being a Virgo et al. Of course having happy clients is all part of the buzz as well!

I’ve been involved with ExpressionEngine (commercial open source :wink: ) for some years, both helping the community, beta testing and so on. Apart from giving something to the community it’s also a great way to learn.