Formatting text within a .js file, and other javascript questions

First and foremost, I want to state that while I have a basic understanding of javascript, I’m still fairly new to it, so any assistance or advice is greatly appreciated.

I’ve recently been going through the process of redesigning my website to include some jquery functionality, mainly the use of a background image slider as my primary ‘pages’ for my website. All of the work I’ve put in so far has been based off of the great background slider by Marco Kuiper, and uses portions of his original code.

As I was working along with my redesign, I hit a bit of a snag that I can’t seem to get past it… Each slide contains a nav bar with text information about that specific slide. As Marco’s original code tried to minimize html and keep everything on the css and js side, all of the text for these slides is contained within JSON strings and values within the script.js file (example below).

{
		"title" : "Aperture",
		"cssclass" : "cam",
		"image" : "bg_cam.jpg",
		"text" : "In optics, an aperture is a hole or an opening through which light travels. More specifically, the aperture of an optical system is the opening that determines the cone angle of a bundle of rays that come to a focus in the image plane. The aperture determines how collimated the admitted rays are, which is of great importance for the appearance at the image plane. If an aperture is narrow, then highly collimated rays are admitted, resulting in a sharp focus at the image plane.",
		"url" : 'http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1270466',
		"urltext" : 'View picture'
	},

I’ve been trying to modify this text to include standard html-style elements like <i> and <b>, and font color changes outside of the css, but when I make these changes they simply don’t have any effect on the front end version of the design (see the example below):