FormMail.pl - Want last_name to appear in subject line

I’ve set up FormMail and it’s working great. But, I realize I’d like my contact’s last name to appear in the subject line, so that I can see at a glance who sent what.

I’m not a coder, but I can generally figure things out. This seems to me that it must be really simple, but I need some guidance this time.

(input type=hidden name=“subject” value=“Business Contact”)

How would I add the last_name variable to that?

Any help appreciated!

M

If the links don’t get you anywhere and you cannot get rid of the nasty old script (since you said it’s on your hoster), post the relevant code here anyway (the HTML form and the Perl). Anyone who does know basic Perl should be able to spot the issue right away.

Sheesh, wondered what you meant… formmail.pl is a typical name for a formmail script…

but do you mean the FormMail.pl from Matt’s Script Archive?

In any case, usually when people are submitting information in hidden form inputs, the value is holding what you want to add to the form. If you need both “Business Contact” and “Smith” then it would make sense that you’d need two hidden inputs… as many hidden inputs as necessary.

Thanks for responding! Yes, Matt’s FormMail. (It was already installed by my host, so I didn’t look any further.)

My problem is that I don’t know how to add that extra value to the Subject line. I’ve tried all sorts of things and nothing seems to work. I get “Business Contact”, but when I do get the “last_name” variable, it’s just like that. It’s not the sender’s actual last name.

If I try putting it on a second line, “Business Contact” is replaced by “last_name”.

I tried separating them, but on the same line, like: (input type=hidden name=“subject” value1=“Business Contact” value2=“last_name”)

My editor program liked that one, but the only part that showed up in the sent email was “Business Contact”.