FrameWork or No Framework for Oldschool PHP Programmer

I’ve been using php for about 12 years now and because of this my coding style is a bit archaic. I have been hiring and managing other php programmers for projects within the last 4 years or so, but im ready to take more control of my projects and do the coding myself. I create a project 1 or 2 times a month and these generally contain web applications, custom seo, mod rewrite shortlinks, data, and occasionally user accounts and associated forms. I plan on developing some web apps that are mobile friendly and responsive as well.

Should I invest my time in learning a framework if i know how to do most everything I need to do already? I have code from countless projects in the past I grab when I need something, but the code is sloppy (sloppy may be an understatement). What would frameworks offer to someone like me who has been doing this for some time, but has fallen behind most new programmers in terms of ability and proper usage. It seems to me most sites can be built with just common php knowledge.

I’d like to start a dialogue and ask some of the newer and older professional php programmers what they think.

A few questions…

1.) Are frameworks written to be streamlined, or do they bog down your servers because they contain so much unused code?
2.) Are frameworks written to assist those who do not know php get their projects completed more easily?
3.) What are the benefits of most common frameworks Laravel and Phalcon (Best PHP Frameworks 2014)

Im sure ill have more questions, but thats it for now.

Thanks ahead of time to anyone willing to interact.

I don’t know too much about php frameworks specifically (I’ve only dabbled with PHP ones), but I can answer a couple of these speaking generally.