Freelance writing

Hi,
I am new in the freelance internet world and really need some help. Mainly, I am interested in how to write a good proposal ( how long should it, what to include). It’s a bit difficult to win the projects and a good proposal is the first step. I don’t have experience in freelance writing so any help and suggestion is welcomed.
Thank you

My proposal contains eight different sections:

1. Project overview: A summary of the project as I understand it from the inquiry.
  2. Background information: What info will be or has been supplied by the client and where I’ll find the rest of the information
  3. Quoted Pages: Specific pages quoted for the project and what I intend to put on them.
  4. Deliverables: How the files will be delivered to the client as to format(s) and other inclusions.
  5. Timeline: The phases of the project and when I expect to complete it.
  6. Performance Standards: What the client can expect from me and what I expect from them
  7. Copyright: How the copyright for the project will be transferred to the client.
  8. Pricing & Payment

Thank you a lot! You have given me a concise answer, that is excatly what I needed.

You can also check this out http://freelancewriting.suite101.com/article.cfm/article_writing_dos_and_donts

Hope it will help. :wink:

If I were you I would start building a portfolio of websites that you own to show off. Put some ads on them. You may even find that the ads are more profitable than writing for others :slight_smile:

I guess we all have our own preferences. Some like to build websites and other enjoy writing. Thank heavens we don’t all like all the same things.

I think shyflower has given a perfect answer. However I just wanted to add that it would help you immensely if you create a portfolio of your work and keep it handy so that you can easily send to any potential client to check out. :slight_smile: