Front end developer not a designer

I just want to have a good advice from the pros of web development here. I am not really good at design, I just want to focus on CSS like somehow a CSS Engineer } Frontend developer . Any ideas and thoughts?

–>> Job title

My opinion is web designer limits one’s career path, but being a Front End Developer broadens one’s career path. Though preferably one would just be a web developer, for having knowledge of a back-end language will broaden a career path even more. As for design work that can always be acquired as one goes along.

1 Like

How about didn’t went to art school like m. Only knows how to code but not backend. I really don’t like backend. I want to focus on CSS.

I’m not sure what your question is, since it was kind of answered in the thing you posted.

Designers look at trends, focus heavily on UX, and overall look and feel. They are purely art and if the company is big enough, they don’t touch a line of code.

I’ve never been in one of these situations, but the way it works for a friend is the designer team send his team (the Frontend Devs) a Photoshop Document and a PDF with an outline of what the page should look like and how it should function. They then make those specifications happen, with as few minor tweaks as possible. This is all the HTML/CSS and Javascript, but none of the backend stuff.

How about didn’t went to art school like m. Only knows how to code but not backend. I really don’t like backend. I want to focus on CSS.

You should at least know Javascript, which is still programming. The guy I mentioned above has 2 Bachelor degrees, one Graphic Art and one Computer Science, but the CS degree is what got him that job.

It’s really getting to the point where the frontend Javascript is starting to outweigh the backend web services.

Thanks for your thoughts. I appreciate it so much for me as a beginner for this web development.

→ She’s good at CSS CSS developer