General SQL Query Help

Hi, I’m still really new at SQL so I have a question. I see all kinds of tutorials about INSERT, UPDATE and DELETE statements, but they’re not real world examples. Let’s take insert for an example. All the tuts that I have read assume no record already exists for the entry that we’re inserting. How do you handle an INSERT when the record already exists? Is this where sub queries come into play? thanks.

It does? Hmm, I never noticed that. I’ll have to check it out.

The default textbox values in the form all come from the database.

A typical example could be a user wanting to change the price of a product. After the user clicks the edit button for that product a form is presented with all the current values for that product. But if the user clicks the submit button without actuially changing any of the values in the form then MySQL throws an error because it appears it doesn’t like trying to update a record unless at least 1 value in that record is being changed.

I can either store all the textbox values in variables on page load and onsubmit check to make sure at least one of the values in the textboxes is now different to the original values or I can do a select query to see if any changes to any of the columns for that record are being requested. If mysql_num_rows() returns a value > 0 then I don’t run the update query because that tells me no changes have been made to any of the values in the form’s textboxes.

It would be nice if MySQL simply updated all the columns in the record whether the user actually changed any values or not in the form.

At least he knows that updating with the same values doesn’t give an error :slight_smile:
If the OP wants/needs more help, he should first respond to Rudy’s post:

Thanks guido2004.

I ran your script on my database and it worked as well. So at least I know there is nothing wrong with my XAMPP.

And…aaaaahhhhhhhhhhh…after all this time, I think the penny has finally dropped :headbang: :headbang: