Generation of hit counts on web pages

Hi everyone!

I’m having trouble with solving an issue regarding hit counts a server registered. I apologize in advance if this is posted in the wrong thread/forum but I’m completely new to the topic and need every help I can get. The situation is the following: I had an account on a server (not my own server) and downloaded little above 2,000 files (images) that were allocated on different pages within the same domain on that server (a gallery, so to speak). After I was done with that, I got the message that those downloads generated over 17,000 hit counts and was asked if I used any kind of download plugin or script.
Since I didn’t use any kind of plugin, add-on or script for that purpose, I now have trouble understanding where those 17,000 hit counts come from. So my guess is that maybe it has something to do with my add-ons.
I’m using Firefox with add-ons like Wappalyzer, Firebug and also a download-plugin, DownThemAll. However, I did not use it during those downloads. So my question would be if somebody knows if there’s any known issue with those add-ons, e.g. they generate server requests without being used actively or something similar. For example, I’m not sure if DownThemAll generates server requests for every single element on the accessed web page beforehand to have the links ready in case you open the add-on and want to download them. Does anybody know more about this? Or maybe someone has another idea what could cause such an enormous amount of hit counts, even though I didn’t use any script or plugin?
I’d appreciate any help or advice, thanks in advance. If further questions occur about my issue, I will gladly answer them.

Best regards

I’m not quite sure which area of the forum would be best for this topic.

The first thing I would suggest is that you access the logs, if possible, and look at the information they provide.