Getting a String from $_GET

Hello,

I’m still very new to PHP, but I hope I can use the right terminology to get my question across.

I am writing a very simple program for an SMS code. When a user sends a message to the code we’ll receive:

https://www.myurl.com/message?from=xxx&to=xxx&text=xxx&date=xxx

so we will receive from (users number), to(our shortcode), text (message text), and the date (date sent) in the form of a $_GET array.

I need to check if there is a keyword in the $_GET[‘text’]. So I understand I should use the function strpos(), but that searches a string and I have an array (Given it is an array of one thing).

My initial instinct is to do this:

$message = $_GET['text'];
$keyword = '#feed';

foreach($_GET as $message => $text){
  echo '' . $text . '';
}

to make the array a string (I’m thinking this doesn’t actually do that?) and then

if (strpos($text, $keyword)) {
  //do what I should do with the messages with the $keyword
}

However, I get nothing back using that. It seems the IF never returns true.

So something isn’t right obviously. I’m guessing I am not making a string out of the text from the message? But don’t really have a clue. I really appreciate the help this community provides, thanks in advance.

if ( strpos( join( $_GET ), $keyword ) )
  ...stuff...

If I understand what you want correctly…

But what I think you really want is:

if ( strpos( $_GET['text'], $keyword ) )

That’s what my initial thought was, I should just be able to use the $_GET[‘text’]. So I went back and looked at things after you confirmed that. It seems the issue is with my keyword, specifically the ‘#’ part of it. If I say:

$keyword = ‘feed’;

I can get the if statements to run correctly, but if I use

$keyword = ‘#feed’;

Then

if ( strpos( $_GET[‘text’], $keyword ) )