Getting paid enough?

Hi guys

I’m not sure if this is the right sub-section to ask but any advice would really be appreciated.

I am currently working for a seo company as their content writer. For every 800 words I am getting about 8 quid, so about a penny a word. I’ve started to look around and this seems quite low considering I am a qualified English teacher and most of my work is always placed on good websites.

To be honest I feel the company has let me down a bit so am looking to move on. Can anyone suggest ways I can make money from my writing rather than through them as I feel I can do better…

It all depends on the type of article that you need.
They can pay you up to $50 for a 450 word article, which is data intensive and needs reasearch on subject matter, and consider it a bargain as the returns are goods in terms of traffic generated through that article.
Try to sell your articles on constant-content.com
Or dailyarticle.com

As already mentioned content cost is and should be based on the type of content you are writing and roughly how long it takes to write it. That said, 800 words for £8 does seem very low to me…

A penny a word is abysmal. Put a portfolio of your work together and start building a decent business for yourself. And just so you know, I charge a whole lot more than $50.00 for any article that requires research. One thing I have found is that pricing by word or hour is just too limiting for me. I base my proposals on an hourly rate, but my quotes are delivered with a price per project. I used fixed rates for some items and scale rates for others depending upon the research the client expects and the information the client can contribute to the article.

I have looked at sites such as constant content and freelance switch, but honestly for the amount of work you have to do the pay per article is quite low.

Initially, to set up my hourly rate, I used a couple of resources: