Going About Explaining PHP

Hi I want to know how should I should go about explaining PHP to my peers.

My situation:

• I am still a student (about 3 Years self-taught PHP experience).
  • In the course I enrolled we are suppose to do PHP, but due to some reasons, the lecturer is unable to present PHP to us, the class.
  • Since I have the most experience in PHP, I now have to help the class, explaining PHP and helping them solve their problems.
  • We only have a limited time to do the PHP, then have to move on.
  • We all received the book: “Beginning PHP5, Apache, MySQL Web Development” from “WROX”, but the rest of the class feel overwhelmed by it.
  • The most of the class are Designers and not Coders.

Please help and Thank you in advance for any help

Jacotheron

How many hours have been allocated to learning PHP?

Do these hours this include Mysql and Apache as well?

We have about 2-3 weeks to do PHP, MySQL and Apache (I figure that this is not enough) if we do not get extension for the projects.
In this time we also have to do 2 PHP websites (the 1 I have already done, busy helping the others with theirs). The peers does not understand PHP so they can’t go on without me (at this stage).

Does that time include installing the 3 on their pcs?

We use xampp so that we do not have to do advanced installing and set-up of the 3.

First of all, make sure that you’ll be getting some sort of extra credit for teaching this class. Lecturers are paid for teaching hours, and if they’re not living up to that and you’re paying for your course you should get either a replacement lecturer, an extension or compensation for having to step up.

Secondly, without extensive commercial experience with PHP and programming in general (or, at the very least, teaching) you may end up hurting the class more than helping. With that in mind I would probably just teach them the very basic underlying concepts behind the language and teach solely through code.

When does the class start?