Good programs to learn to be a web developer

Hello. Everyone. I would like to know what other programs are there that is helpful to gain skills to become web developer. I’m currently learning HTML5, CSS, Javascript, and JQuery. I’m pretty new to web design/development. I also heard PHP and MySQL is good program to learn. Is it good to have experience on graphic design programs such as Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator? I also want to know how many daily hours does the web developers invest to keep up with their skills. I know web design and web development is different thing. Is it good idea to start as web designer and then take steps into coding? Your answer would be very appreciated. Thank you.

BTW those two web pages that I created with PNG files that I created from adobe program and coding with HTML and CSS. Followed some other designer’s styles. See what you think and I would love to have constructive feedback.

The first two languages a web developer would learn would be JavaScript and PHP (or whatever server side language their server supports). The next thing to learn would be a database of some sort (commonly mySQL if you learn PHP).

You need to know what the html tags are and the basics of CSS so that you know how to interact with them from JavaScript but you’d rely on the web designer to actually produce the HTML and CSS for the page. While a designer might use Photoshop or Illustrator, a developer wouldn’t be creating any images at all and so would not have any need to ever open either of those programs while working on web development tasks.

It is extremely rare for someone to be both a good web designer and a good web developer - the talent required for these two completely different roles are seldom both found in the one person.