Good Starting point to learn JavaScript AND a If statement

Hi

This forum has helped my immensely in building my website and whilst its functional, its still (and i guess always will be) a work in progress!

I’m at a stage where I am getting some good traffic now and would like to make my site more interactive rather than ‘informative’

'm thinking the only way to do so would to be via Javascript? What is teh best book/ method for a total beginner? The Sitepoint books on HTML and CSS were fantastic

One thing I’d like to do would be to write an if statement from a drop down list

IE:

If x is selected from the drop down list 1

AND

y is selected from the drop down list 2 then = RESULT

I’ve been looking for examples to look at but can’t see anything. Is this straightforward?

These things take time. Try to learn the language fairly well before attempting anything.
There are lots of tutorials on the internet. Try some, test some things out, learn. That’s how I’ve done it.

Hi there,

This isn’t too hard. To begin with we’ll need two select menus.

<label for="select1">Select 1</label>
<select id="select1">
  <option>Please select something</option>
  <option value="A">A</option>
  <option value="B">B</option>
  <option value="C">C</option>
</select>

<label for="select2">Select 2</label>
<select id="select2">
</select>

Then we need to get references to these elements from our JavaScript:

var select1 = document.getElementById("select1"),
    select2 = document.getElementById("select2");

After that we need to attach an event listener which will call a function every time the user selects a different option from the menus.

select1.onchange = checkResult;
select2.onchange = checkResult;

Then we need to define that function, in which we can compare the result:

function checkResult(){
  if(select1.value === "A" && select2.value === "B"){
    alert("We have a winnah!!");
  }
}

Here’s the whole thing:

<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html>
  <head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">