Google Stars

I would like some advice and help on making icons that look like what I am calling “Google Stars”.

When you go into Gmail, Google provides the ability to “star” an Email in your Email Folders to signify it is important. (Likewise, you can do this in the actual Email itself, like when you are viewing it.)

This may sound simple, but here are my challenges…

1.) I don’t have any Graphics Design Software
2.) I have no Graphic Design knowledge
3.) It’s not just the “Yellow Star” that I want/need, but it the “Gray Star Outline”… (And getting that “hover effect” is even trickier!!)

I am on a new MacBook Pro.

Based on my need and constraints mentioned above…

How hard would it be for me to make the “Gray Star Outline”/“Yellow Star” by myself in something like Inkscape or Gimp??

I don’t have months or years to become a Graphic Designer or an expert in Inkscape or Gimp, but I am willing to give it a go if it is attainable with some help from you guys…

What do you think? :-/

Sincerely,

Debbie

Hi Debbie,

Try Googling for “CSS stars”.

No need to learn graphics or to increase your page loading time by having to include extra images, etc,

Yes, I imagine there are a lot of (search for) “free star icons” available on the web.

I looked on WikiMedia Commons last night.

Found a couple of keeper stars, but here is the deal…

a.) Finding a Gray Outline Star isn’t so easy.

b.) Since I refuse to use JavaScript, it seems to me if I could create a Sprite, it might give me the effects I want without having to turn to “The Dark Side”.

c.) I don’t think a tiny Star would hurt page loading times that much.

Have you ever used Inkscape or Gimp?

Debbie

Not so easy? Any help? https://www.google.com/search?q=free+Gray+Outline+Star+icon
or even better https://www.google.com/search?q=free+Gray+Outline+Star+icon+sprite